Alyssa Moreau

Ice Nine “Kills” their way through a sold out crowd in Nashville TN

Music Scene Media
Aug 19, 2023
6 min read

The familiar pre-concert buzz was impossible to ignore as you walked into the venue. Having been sold out for weeks, the anticipation for this show was through the roof as fans gathered. 

The first act on this loaded line up was Mike’s Dead, the producer and artist from Washington D.C. Having released a handful of EP’s and singles since just 2018, Mike’s Dead is already making waves in the heavy music scene. Combining trap beats, synth parts, and heavy riffs, Mike’s Dead has manufactured a unique sound that appeals to a wide range of fans. The sold out crowd was packed shoulder to shoulder and completely entranced in the music.

Next to take the stage was the hard rock band, The Plot In You. One of the highlights of the night was front man Landon Tewers insanely powerful vocals. From his screams to his softer melodies, every note hit and came together for a flawless performance. This band packs a punch, and took the energy in the room up to a new level. Fans were screaming along, especially to powerful hits like “FEEL NOTHING”, which became a huge hit on TikTok, driving the band to a new level.

The third band to perform was the rapidly growing Set It Off. The band recently surpassed a huge milestone of hitting 3 million monthly listeners on Spotify, and after this performance there's no question why. Between their stage presence and catchy melodies, not a single person in the crowd was standing still. 

Front man Cody Carson's crowd interaction was a treat, showing off this band as performers as well as musicians. One of my favorite parts of the night was when he jumped over the barricade and walked out 15 feet onto the crowd. Standing in the hands of the audience, he sang the last chorus of “Ancient History” surrounded by amazed faces looking up at him. The movement from the band on stage was also impressive, with jumps and headbangs that consistently added to the energy of their music.

Set It Off setlist:

  1. Wolf in Sheep's Clothing
  2. Killer in the Mirror
  3. Ancient History
  4. Projector
  5. Loose Cannon
  6. Hypnotized (Maxx Danziger on vocals; Cody Carson on drums)
  7. Win Win
  8. N.M.E./Everybody (Backstreet's Back)
  9. Why Worry
  10. Punching Bag

Finally, with the energy at an all time high, Ice Nine Kills took to the stage. Pushing the limits on theatrics and performance, Ice Nine Kills puts on a show like no other. With the vast majority of their discography written after classic horror films, the band really dives into character while performing. With costumes, props, and even actors, the full show serves as a tribute to these classic films while perfectly showing off the talent and creativity of the musicians. 

Opening with “Hip To Be Scared”, a song written after the 2000 movie American Psycho, front man Spencer Charnas dresses in a clear raincoat and murders an actor with an ax. Stunts like this are littered throughout their set. This keeps the audience engaged visually while screaming along to the song. 

Ice Nine Kills has had quite the journey as a band. Originally from Boston, the band got its start in the year 2000, independently releasing the debut album in 2006. In 2015 the band signed with Fearless Records, and things started to take off. They reached a massive audience with their fifth studio album, The Silver Scream and its follow up, Welcome To Horrorwood: The Silver Scream 2 (2021). After this show, the band departs from the tour for a few days to support Metallica, showing just how far they’ve come. 

The setlist was a carefully curated blend of fan-favorite songs from their latest few albums, ensuring both long-time supporters and newcomers were captivated throughout the night. Hits like "IT Is The End" and "A Grave Mistake" had the crowd singing along at the top of their lungs. Ice Nine Kills also treated their dedicated fans to a few surprises, including “Jason’s Mom”; a “Stacy’s Mom” parody that was a hit with everyone in the crowd. 

The band was sure to keep the energy up throughout the set with a mosh pit constantly moving in the middle of the room. Crowd surfers were tumbling over the barrier as hit after hit played. This show was highly anticipated by the fans, and they didn’t hold back when the time finally came.

Stream Ice Nine Kills on Spotify

Subscribe to our Newsletter and stay up to date!

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest news and work updates straight to your inbox.

Oops! There was an error sending the email, please try again.

Awesome! Now check your inbox and click the link to confirm your subscription.